What Happens If You Get In A Wreck In An Uber Or Lyft?
Since inception in 2009, Uber—and now Lyft—are drastically changing transportation for people. These efficient and cost-effective rideshare companies have permanently changed the way we travel. But with the ease of an instant ride to and from almost anywhere, there also comes with it the chance of being in an accident.
Rideshare drivers are not immune to wrecks or accidents. Whether they were being negligent, were distracted by reading directions, or the other driver caused the accident, you may pay the price as a passenger. Our accident attorneys understand there are many questions to consider when you are in a wreck in an Uber or a Lyft, especially when Florida’s no-fault law is taken into account.
What to do After An Accident In A Rideshare
The steps you should take after being in an accident in an Uber or Lyft are fairly similar to that of being in an accident as the driver yourself.
Remember to follow all of these steps so you can prove, if necessary, that you were injured due to the actual accident and so you can fight to receive the maximum compensation. This initial information will greatly help out your personal injury lawyer in making your claim solid.
- Call 911
- Seek medical attention within 14 days
- Take photographs or document any information from the accident scene
- Obtain a personal injury lawyer who is specialized in Uber/Lyft accidents
A rideshare auto accident lawyer will then take the additional steps to strengthen your personal injury claim by:
- Reviewing police reports and witness statements
- Communicating with Uber or Lyft about insurance coverage
- Communicating with all other insurance companies
- Request information from Uber or Lyft about driver’s safety, training, and records
- Work with your healthcare provider
- Negotiate for maximum compensation
- Review insurance settlement
The veteran attorneys at Mickey Keenan, P.A. are with you every step of the way. Here, your family is our family. Call us today or contact us for a free injury case review. 813-871-1300
How Florida’s “No–Fault” Law Effects Insurance Coverage
Florida is considered a “no-fault” state, which means that no matter who was at fault for the accident your personal auto insurance will be responsible for up to $10,000 in medical bills and lost wages through PIP insurance (personal injury protection).
How does this translate into being a passenger in a rideshare accident? In most cases, even being a passenger in the accident, you will still need to go through your insurance to make a claim. After you have exhausted your PIP benefits, then you may be able to make additional claims through the rideshare driver’s insurance/other driver’s insurance/rideshare service’s insurance.
Both Uber and Lyft offer full liability insurance and $1 million in UM (uninsured motorist) for their drivers with the specific intent of helping passengers who were involved as well. Both companies require their drivers to carry their own car insurance as well.
What if I’m a Rideshare Driver and Injured too?
If you are a driver of a rideshare company and you are in an accident, the amount of money you can be compensated depends on what you were doing when the accident occurred.
For example, if your app was on and you were carrying passengers you may have access to full liability. If the app was turned off and you were not taking passengers, you will likely not be covered under the rideshare service’s insurance. Generally speaking, the liability goes down when there are no active passengers or active en route trips.
Keep in mind your personal auto insurance policy may be exempt for using your personal vehicle for business purposes while operating as a rideshare.
Why Consult an Accident Attorney
Rideshare accident cases and claims can be so complex because they involve four insurance groups in Florida—your private insurance, the driver’s private insurance, the other driver’s private insurance, and the rideshare company’s insurance. With all these insurance companies in place, it is very easy to see why a claim can get so confusing.
A personal injury lawyer that has experience in rideshare accidents, like one at Mickey Keenan, P.A. will take care of the insurance companies for you. Our experts will negotiate to ensure you are not accepting a low settlement and you are getting the maximum compensation you deserve.
You should not have to worry about fighting your insurance claims while you recover. Our rideshare accident lawyers will be working to make sure you receive more than adequate compensation for:
- Medical bills and expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain & suffering
Call our Tampa, Florida Injury Lawyers
When you are involved in a rideshare accident, time is of the utmost importance and you need to reach out to a professional and knowledgeable rideshare personal injury attorney at Mickey Keenan, PA. – immediately.
Our lawyers will work with all insurance companies to make sure you are receiving all the appropriate and maximum compensation you deserve. This is the last thing you need to be worrying about, as you recover, especially when you were not even involved as a driver!
Call us at 813-871-1300 or go to our app to schedule your free consultation.