Why you NEED Florida Uninsured Motorist Coverage
In the state of Florida, nearly 26% of the drivers on our roads are uninsured. This is the highest percentage of uninsured motorists in the entire country! If you are involved in a car accident and the negligent driver is without insurance, you will more than likely be responsible for any out-of-pocket expenses. For this reason alone, you NEED to have Uninsured Motorist Coverage if you live in Florida.
How am I protected by uninsured motorist coverage?
In the state of Florida, your personal injury protection (PIP) will likely NOT cover your entire bodily injury claim if you are involved in a car accident caused by a driver who does not have enough bodily injury liability insurance.
This is where uninsured motorist protection comes in. Uninsured motorist coverage protects the policyholder, any relatives who reside with them, and any occupants of the vehicle at the time of the accident and provides coverage for the following:
- Medical bills
- Lost wages
- Long-term nursing care
- Pain & suffering
- Replacement services for tasks the injured is no longer able to do
How do I get for uninsured motorist coverage?
It’s easy. Uninsured motorist coverage can be added to your existing auto insurance policy. You can select a limit for the coverage, but it cannot have a higher limit than your existing bodily injury liability coverage. Keep in mind, uninsured motorist coverage does not pay for damage to the vehicle.
In Florida, it is required for all motorists who have a registered vehicle to have a minimum of $10,000 PIP insurance and $10,000 property damage liability. However, if you are involved in a car accident and sustain an injury, the $10,000 from your no-fault PIP insurance will not be enough to cover your medical expenses and other damages.
If the negligent driver does not have insurance, then you would be protected by your own uninsured motorist coverage.
Involved in a car accident?
Call Mickey Keenan, P.A. at 813-831-1700.
Your Fight is our Fight.
Florida Laws & Personal Injury Claims
Florida is considered a no-fault state. Therefore, car accidents are a clear exception to general Florida personal injury laws. Here, your car insurance is what pays for injuries and/or damages resulting from an accident, no matter who was at fault. While drivers are required to carry a personal injury protection (PIP) policy – which covers a minimum of $10,000 per person per accident – this may not be enough to cover all the costs. Your only protection is to add uninsured motorist coverage to your auto insurance policy.
Of course, you can file a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident if the injuries are serious. Currently, Florida law defines serious personal injuries as:
- Significant and/or permanent loss of an important bodily function
- Permanent injury or disability
- Significant, permanent scarring or disfigurement
If you’ve been injured in Florida, personal injury laws are important to know particularly if you believe someone else was at fault. To win a settlement, you must show that another person was negligent and that their carelessness caused your injury. It’s best to speak with an attorney to make sure you know what applies to your specific injury case before filing a lawsuit.
Check for Uninsured Motorist Coverage
There’s no such thing as full coverage when it comes to your insurance policy. Check your auto policy for Florida uninsured motorist coverage. Today. It’s too dangerous to be driving without it.
If you’ve been involved in a car accident caused by an uninsured, negligent driver, call our Tampa personal injury law office. We will work hard to make you whole. Call Mickey Keenan, P.A. at 813-871-1300 for a free consultation with our professional & aggressive personal injury attorney.